Ada Aharoni
IFLAC logo

  • HOME


    IFLAC is a voluntary Association that strives for peace by building bridges of understanding and peace through culture, literature and communication. IFLAC is founded and directed by Egyptian-born Israeli writer Ada Aharoni (Ph.D), since 1999.


    Email: ada.aharoni06@gmail.com
    Ada Aharoni's Homepage
    Ada Aharoni on Wikipedia
    Books by Ada Aharoni
    Poems by Ada Aharoni: Peace Poems | Women Poems

  • Follow us:

    Twitter Facebook
    Follow IFLAC on WordPress.com

    Happy International Women’s Day!

     

    SINIORA: MY NEW FRIEND IN GAZA

    By Ada Aharoni

    Your shy smile under your veil
    And luminous dark eyes in the theatre
    Of life, of strife, caught my eye
    In the Ability Center in Khan Yunis, in Gaza.
    I invited you to take a picture with us
    And you charmingly accepted.
    I gave you my peace poetry book in Arabic translation,
    You read and said: “You love Peace as much as me!”
    And you gave me your address, for more of my books.
    You pointed out from the window
    To the impressive new buildings in Gaza,
    And we became new friends.
    With women it is as easy as that.

    You asked me about my children,
    I asked you about your family, your plans,
    You showed me your artwork, your workshop,
    I showed you my inner writing, my pictures, my peace dreams.
    You showed me your impressive museum
    With gorgeous embroidered Palestinian dresses,
    You gently asked: “Which one do you like best?”
    I pointed to the dark blue with red embroidery,
    Like the one I used to wear in Egypt, a long time ago,
    And in my poetry presentations.
    “I’ll embroider it for you, and send it to you to Haifa,”
    You promptly, softly said.
    I was so moved, and hugged you dear Siniora,
    My new friend in Gaza.
    When our blue bus drove away,
    We both had tears in our eyes,
    My wonderful new friend in Gaza –
    With women it is as natural, as easy as that.

    Men! Learn from women for a change,
    Let women help you make peace, make friends,
    With women it is as natural, as easy as that.

    Read more Women Poems!



    What do YOU think? Click in the box below to leave your comment.