Ada Aharoni
IFLAC logo

  • HOME


    IFLAC is a voluntary Association that strives for peace by building bridges of understanding and peace through culture, literature and communication. IFLAC is founded and directed by Egyptian-born Israeli writer Ada Aharoni (Ph.D), since 1999.


    Email: ada.aharoni06@gmail.com
    Ada Aharoni's Homepage
    Ada Aharoni on Wikipedia
    Books by Ada Aharoni
    Poems by Ada Aharoni: Peace Poems | Women Poems

  • Follow us:

    Twitter Facebook
    Follow IFLAC on WordPress.com

    INTRODUCTION OF IFLAC NEW INTERN – DAN LUITON

    Displaying IMG_0436.jpg

    My name is Dan Luiton, I’m from the border region of USA-Mexico
    called the Rio Grande Valley which has a combination of the Mexican and
    American culture clash. I was born in the USA but raised in Mexico in the
    border city Matamoros-Brownsville metro area. Therefore, I am a
    Mexican-American. I am a third year student currently attending the
    University of Texas at Austin, majoring in History. Moreover, this semester
    I decided to do an exchange program in Israel at Haifa University. As a
    passionate future historian I have travelled to Israel to learn a new
    language and culture.

    Why I chose IFLAC?

    The reason I choose to intern at IFLAC is because I want to promote peace
    and love through literature, not only because I’m a Christian, but also to
    learn how to make peace in my home town – Matamoros in Mexico. The mission
    of IFLAC is to bring peace by using our pens and this is something I’m
    passionate about. My love for writing has the opportunity to have small
    impact which can promote peace. Also, creating a culture of peace through
    literature is a great means to bring peace, instead of using violence.
    Furthermore, it will be a great honor to be interning with Professor Ada
    Aharoni.

    Seven years ago violence erupted bringing bombings, blood, and bodies to my
    home city and everything changed drastically. The state I lived in was
    ranked the most dangerous state in Mexico. Living through this horror in
    first hand make me want to do something to end this internal war, and IFLAC
    is an opportunity to promote peace by not using violence but literature. For
    this reason, I decided to intern with IFLAC. Moreover, as a Christian I want
    to promote peace and love through literature, which is a perfect means to
    change the perception of the world.

    Reading the novel From the Nile to Jordan, by Prof. Ada Aharoni, has opened
    my eyes to the Israeli Palestinian conflict, and it has made me look at the
    conflict from both sides. This historical love story has inspired me to
    bring peace, by telling the whole history of any conflict. For these reasons
    I chose to intern with IFLAC.

    Thanks,

    Dan Luiton

     



    What do YOU think? Click in the box below to leave your comment.

    