Ada Aharoni
IFLAC logo

  • HOME


    IFLAC is a voluntary Association that strives for peace by building bridges of understanding and peace through culture, literature and communication. IFLAC is founded and directed by Egyptian-born Israeli writer Ada Aharoni (Ph.D), since 1999.


    Email: ada.aharoni06@gmail.com
    Ada Aharoni's Homepage
    Ada Aharoni on Wikipedia
    Books by Ada Aharoni
    Poems by Ada Aharoni: Peace Poems | Women Poems

  • Follow us:

    Twitter Facebook
    Follow IFLAC on WordPress.com

    Poem of the Month, February 2012

    Audio version 

     

    THE POOR

    All the Poor with Plenty Fed

    By Ada Aharoni

    Is Dryden’s Mirabilis dream –
    “All the poor with plenty fed,”
    Reachable at last in our own fat days?

    Mother, oh mother I’m so hungry
    I have sharp-toothed rats in my stomach!

    What would it take today
    For all the poor to be plenty fed?
    Should the rich grab less and let
    Some juicy morsels fall
    Into the laps of hungry children?

    Mother, oh mother I’m so hungry
    I have sharp-toothed rats in my stomach!

    Should bank managers get only
    Three times more salary than their staff
    And not a hundred times more?
     
    When will governments understand
    That it is nobler and more sociable
    To feed the poor than to
    Feed their guns with deathly bullets
    And their tanks with shells,
    Rockets and napalm

    Mother, oh mother I’m so hungry
    I have sharp-toothed rats in my stomach!

    Can the dream come true today?
    Don’t be a Don Quixote!
    The rich will go on being richer
    The poor will go on being poorer
    And hungry children will go on dreaming
    Of delicious banquets when they go to sleep
    On craving empty stomachs

    Mother, oh mother I’m so hungry
    I have sharp-toothed rats in my stomach and in my belly!

     



    What do YOU think? Click in the box below to leave your comment.

    