Ada Aharoni
IFLAC logo

  • HOME


    IFLAC is a voluntary Association that strives for peace by building bridges of understanding and peace through culture, literature and communication. IFLAC is founded and directed by Egyptian-born Israeli writer Ada Aharoni (Ph.D), since 1999.


    Email: ada.aharoni06@gmail.com
    Ada Aharoni's Homepage
    Ada Aharoni on Wikipedia
    Books by Ada Aharoni
    Poems by Ada Aharoni: Peace Poems | Women Poems

  • Follow us:

    Twitter Facebook
    Follow IFLAC on WordPress.com

    Poem of the Month, December 2011

    This month’s poem is the winning poem in the age group 9-10 of the IFLAC International Poetry Contest for Children 2011. Chloe Choi is 10 and a student at the Seoul Foreign School in Korea.

     

    WINTER’S HARMONY

    By Chloe Choi

    As I look around, above and underneath me, I moan
    Can’t you all be silent as I view this sight alone?
    No, I don’t mean completely alone.
    I mean let the birds fly and sing their cute choir.
    Let the snowflakes fall down as silent as they can to represent peace
    To new earth. To a new place. To belong here, next to me, as I see them gracefully falling down.

    But when I lift up some pile of snow that landed on new earth, I cry.
    How can the earth’s beauty never last long?
    Every snow I cup, they are all gone. All melting, all dying.
    Every bird or animal I start to sing or try to play with,
    They run away or stop doing what they’re doing. Scared.
    But can’t I even get along? Isn’t that what peace is?
    I don’t want to be left out.
    I want to be on top of earth—on a mountain—like I am right now,
    Sight-seeing the beauty of the wonderful snow-covered earth.

    Oh God,
    Let this sight last a little longer.
    For the snow’s sake, please don’t disappear or leave me alone.
    Let the snow keep falling.
    Let the winter creatures keep on chirp, sing and do their work-to-do.
    Let winter last longer. Even though it is freezing, I enjoy the sight.
    I want the nature’s peace to keep going. Go naturally and peacefully.
    Rest with me as I lay down on the top of the mountain. With peace.

     



    What do YOU think? Click in the box below to leave your comment.

    