Ada Aharoni
IFLAC logo

  • HOME


    IFLAC is a voluntary Association that strives for peace by building bridges of understanding and peace through culture, literature and communication. IFLAC is founded and directed by Egyptian-born Israeli writer Ada Aharoni (Ph.D), since 1999.


    Email: ada.aharoni06@gmail.com
    Ada Aharoni's Homepage
    Ada Aharoni on Wikipedia
    Books by Ada Aharoni
    Poems by Ada Aharoni: Peace Poems | Women Poems

  • Follow us:

    Twitter Facebook
    Follow IFLAC on WordPress.com

    Poem of the Month, November 2011

     

    ARAB ISRAELI STUDENT ON T.V.

    By Ada Aharoni

    You ponder hard in front of hesitating microphone,
    Your eyebrows arch puzzlement over the screen.
    Nuances of troubled expression on your handsome Semitic face,
    Crack and recrack every query in the air:
    “Do I really feel at home here?
    And if I do, do they feel I feel at home here,
    Am at home here?
    Do I feel an Israeli Arab? Or an Arab Israeli?
    Or a Palestinian? Or all of these? (Or none of these?)”

    Suddenly the answer blurts out like a raven in flight
    Escaping its dark cage: “I have no identity!”

    The raven flies straight into my eyes with claws and beak.
    And I remember my own rootless wound
    In Egypt land – And I hurt your dangling hurt,
    My Semitic cousin in pain.

    The questions stir Nile and Jordan visions
    Flowing intense churning –
    “And if a Palestinian State is founded
    Would you go and live there?
    Would you feel better?”
    Again the puckered brows locked,
    Strained jaw-muscles, glowing sorrowful eyes.

    Then gently, like a dove swooping
    On its way to peaceful green woods:
    “My home is in Galilee. But I would feel better
    if there were a Palestinian State,
    For then my Arab brothers would not fight
    The land I live in –
    Any more.”

     



    What do YOU think? Click in the box below to leave your comment.

    