Ada Aharoni

  • HOME


    IFLAC is a voluntary Association that strives for peace by building bridges of understanding and peace through culture, literature and communication. IFLAC is founded and directed by Egyptian-born Israeli writer Ada Aharoni (Ph.D), since 1999.


    IFLAC on Facebook


    Email: ada.aharoni06@gmail.com
    Ada Aharoni's Homepage
    Ada Aharoni on Wikipedia
    Books by Ada Aharoni
    Poems by Ada Aharoni: Peace Poems | Women Poems

  • Follow IFLAC on WordPress.com

    Bringing Hearts Together in the Ahmedim Mosque in Kababir

    As the first woman, Ada Aharoni was invited to speak in the Ahmedim Mosque in Haifa.

    Ada speaking in the Ahmedim Mosque in Kababir

    Ada speaking in the Ahmedim Mosque in Kababir

    Ada writes:

    “A wonderful thing happened to me last Saturday. On June 30, I was invited to speak in the Ahmedim Mosque in Kababir in Haifa, at their annual Conference. It was the first time that a woman was invited to speak and address the audience in their beautiful Mosque.

    The Ahmedim are a Moslem sect that started in India, and they believe in peace and in Bringing Hearts Together. They invited me because my book: Kiruv Levavot bears the same name as their Conference, and they love our IFLAC ideals, values and goals.

    It was an extraordinary morning, the speeches by the All Men Panel were full of peace values, and very meaningful. After I was called to address the audience, and I spoke abut IFLAC and about my book, many of the Ahmedim women told me: we are so proud of you, you have made history today!

    I wish all Moslems would follow the path of the Ahmedim whose motto is: love to all – and hatred to none!

    * * *

    Ada’s historical novel Kiruv Levavot is about the uprooting of the Jews from Arab countries in the mid 20th century. Ada says, “My research for this novel clearly showed me that one of the ways to deeply reconcile the Palestinians and Israelis is by pointing out their mutual history and their mutual uprooting in the Middle East, as well as their shared values and humanism.”

     

    In Ahmedim, our Poem of the Month for July, Ada sums up the event at the Conference:

     

    AHMEDIM

    By Ada Aharoni

    The day I was invited
    to greet the Ahmedim community
    in their Kababir Mosque in Haifa -
    I was sure it was a joke!

    Me, a woman, to address these respectable Imams
    in their beautiful Islamic Mosque! No way!
    Impossible! Me, a Jewish woman!
    I was doubly sure it was a joke.

    But they called and reminded me
    I was invited to address the
    audience at their yearly Conference
    on “Bringing Hearts Together”, in their Mosque.

    On our tingling way to Kababir
    I told my friends I was sure they would
    tell me to speak in their backyard
    but no way it could be inside the Mosque!

    The Ahmedim talked about “Love to All – and Hatred to None,”
    And suddenly, I was called to the Podium,
    I couldn’t believe it, and yet there I was,
    And I told them they are the hope of our region.

    In the pictures of this unforgettable event,
    I see the Imams at their table smiling behind me
    while I quoted with excitement from my book bearing the
    same title as their Conference – Kiruv Levavot.

    I felt a fathomless joy, I was in heaven,
    when the Ahmedim woman I didn’t know
    came and hugged me and said -
    You made history today!

     

    2 Comments on “Bringing Hearts Together in the Ahmedim Mosque in Kababir”

    1. KTShamim says:

      [Qur'an 2:257] “There should be no compulsion in religion. Surely, right has become distinct from wrong; … ”

      [Qur'an 18:30] “And say, ‘It is the truth from your Lord; wherefore let him who will, believe, and let him who will, disbelieve.”

      [Qur'an 6:108] “And if Allah had enforced His will, they would not have set up gods with Him. And We have not made thee a keeper over them nor art thou over them a guardian.”

      Islam doesn’t need, never needed, never wanted to spread by any force. Islam spreads by winning people’s hearts through the power of love.

      We are Muslims belonging to the Ahmadiyya Muslim Community, who believe in the Messiah, Mirza Ghulam Ahmad of Qadian as a Prophet within Islam and here is some of what we did:
      Muslimsforlife(dot)org – successfully collected 10,000 pints of blood to honor 3,000 dead of 9/11 (by saving 30,000 lives)
      Muslimsforpeace(dot)org – condemning terrorism, promoting Islamic value of loyalty to ones nation, peace, bus-ads and flyers and leaflets to promote the same
      love4all(dot)org(dot)uk – We serve humanity in many ways including a wide range of activities that provide disaster relief, medical facilities, energy, education and self-help programmes across the world


    What do YOU think? Click in the box below to leave your comment.

        Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

    Join 63 other followers